Two Alumni Win at the Canadian Arts & Fashion Awards Gala

April 19, 2016

Last Friday night, Toronto hosted Canada’s most fashionable night, the 3rd annual Canadian Arts & Fashion Awards Gala (CAFA). During the evening, 14 awards were given among which two are LaSalle College alumni. 

Reigning Mercedes-Benz Start Up winner UNTTLD was triumphant at the CAFAs. The Montreal-based label helmed by Jose Manuel St-Jacques and Simon Belanger, the latter, an alumnus of the Fashion Design program at LaSalle College, was recognized with the Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent in Fashion. Some of their recent accolades and achievements include, recently winning the Star Wars fashion competition during World Master Card Fashion Week in Toronto. UNTTLD has also had the honour of dressing the entire organizing committee of the Montreal Contemporary art Museum benefit bal last September. 

Annie Horth, long-time stylist of Canadian music superstar Celine Dion, received Stylist of the Year Award. 

Elle Macpherson was also recognized with the Vanguard Award. With a career spanning over three decades and an empire built around her name, the Australian model and fashion mogul was honoured for contributions to the industry. 

Long-time Canadian designer Wayne Clark was also recognized with an outstanding achievement award. 

This year's gala was held at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel, and was hosted by actress Kim Cattrall of "Sex and the City", who currently stars on the Toronto-shot series "Sensitive Skin." 

CAFA winners were selected by the Official CAFA Jury, comprised of 25 influential members of the Canadian arts and fashion community.

Fashion Arts & Design
Events and shows
Awards and recognitions